Introducing…

I am writing my first post while watching “The Lion King.”  I can think of no better inspiration.

Remember when you were five, and you thought your life would be, like, phenomenal by your 20s?  When I was five, my biggest problem was that my parents almost didn’t buy me “The Lion King” when it came out on VHS, until I threw a temper tantrum in the middle of the mall (**disclaimer: I wasn’t usually that kind of kid, but this was SERIOUS). I totally knew what I wanted to be when I grew up, and my life was going to be awesome.

When I was that age, I am pretty sure I thought I was going to be an astronaut at 23, the age I am now.  Fast forward to 7th grade—I thought I was going to be a lawyer.  In 9th grade, I planned on becoming a journalist; in 11th grade, I was going to do international business and travel the world; and by senior year, I was planning on becoming a psychologist.  It goes without saying that at every age I assumed I would also be married to Prince Charming by 23.

Then I started college, and my plans changed yet again.  After a year of gen eds, I decided to change my major to Nursing.  And I stuck with this.  I graduated (a semester late) with my BSN, and have been working as an RN for a year now.

So here I am, with my big girl job, living on my own in my big girl apartment, with my cat.  And you know what?  I STILL feel like I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.  And, after a lot of brooding and whatnot the past year, I have decided that that is ok.

I am hoping to use this blog to make the best of my life as it is now.  I may not be exactly where I want, or where I thought I would be right now, but my life is actually pretty good.  I will probably write, on occasion, about being a 20-something, because it can be a really difficult and misunderstood time in a person’s life.  But I also want to share with you all the things in life that I love, be it clothes, music, books or my cat.  Or pretty much anything else.   I hope you all enjoy what you see and read on here!

“All life is an experiment.  The more experiments you make the better.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

4 thoughts on “Introducing…

  1. Astronaut you say? 🙂 Well, I wanted to be Bat Man. Yes, boys have different and less sane look at their future than you.
    I went through every phase you went through (with more unrealistic standards), I went to dentistry and I failed at that, Then I started computer engineering. But then I had that enough is enough moment, and then I started to work for what I love. I went back to dentistry and graduated and I became a published author too.
    If you have a dream then don’t stop, in these days, being more than one thing is now possible. Don’t get me wrong, it’s hard, but possible. So if there’s something you really love, go for it, look at the path that you have to cross to get there and then start walking toward it. 🙂

    One more thing… Welcome to WordPress 🙂 You will love it here.

Leave a Reply

